Some Grade II Listed Buildings to Discover in Bootle
Bootle is an ancient parish recorded in the Domesday book as Bodele, from an old-English word meaning a building. Nowadays, it’s in Cumbria but still boasts twelve Grade II-listed structures of various types.
Sixteenth-century Seaton Hall is surrounded by the much older ruins of Seaton Priory, a Benedictine nunnery founded around 1190. The newer Eskmeals was a two-storey Georgian house erected in 1761 and extended later, with this trend continuing for the 1762-built Swallowhurst. In roughcast stone with a slate roof, it nestles between two barns topped by concrete tiles, at right angles to the main building. Of a similar vintage, The Nook is an attractive late eighteenth-century stone-cast dwelling with 3 bay windows.
Built for the People
Railway buffs will love Bootle Signal Box! Erected in 1874 for the Furness Railway, it’s one of only two remaining Furness Railway Type 1 boxes. The interior still possesses a 1977 London Midland Region Lever Frame with 15 levers.
Captain Shaw’s Church of England primary school, a stuccoed construction endowed by local naval hero Isaac Shaw, opened in 1830. The local community recently fought a successful campaign against its closure. Also listed are the early nineteenth-century house and shop opposite, among the pleasing facades of Main Street.
Visitors to the mostly-restored St Michael and All Angels can admire the Victorian stained-glass windows, and will be rewarded by finding a few original medieval features on the round chancel arch and elsewhere. In the churchyard, the Shaw monument, a 1780 headstone leaning against the wall, lists three members of the family. Look out, too, for an eighteenth-century sundial in ashlar stone with a baluster shaft, standing on the base of an earlier one.
The former Congregational Church in Chapel Lane was erected in 1870, becoming part of the United Reformed Church in 1972. Now independent and owned by Rural Ministries, it’s still used for evangelical events. It contains the headstone of the founder (died 1793) and his family, and two ornate headstones. On the west side of the stuccoed chapel are two attached roughcast houses, with lintels dating them at 1780 and 1808.
Bootle gained its market charter in 1347, and was declared the smallest market town in the country. Today, the village cross stands close to the churchyard, on the site of the old market cross. Designed by prominent Lancashire architects Paley and Austen, it commemorates Queen Victoria’s Diamond Jubilee and lists the dates of two market charters.
As established roofers in Bootle, Cumbria Roofing are often working in the area where we can admire these historic buildings and help with a variety of roofing services in Bootle for our wide range of clients. To find out more, please call us on 01946 823300 or email firstname.lastname@example.org.